Archinect
anchor

Undergrad Portfolio Critique

derekmc825

Hey there, so i am currently in my 3rd year at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo Architecture major and i need some help/constructive criticism for my portfolio that i will be sending out to firms for summer internships. 

http://issuu.com/dmcfarland/docs/dmcportfolio

Some of my font sizes came in pretty small, and too thin so maybe I should change that?

The portfolio is in reverse chronological order, does that seem to work well, or not?

What do you think? Don't be afraid to rip it

Thank you so much in advance,

Derek

Dec 18, 11 7:06 am
backbay

i only flipped through so i can't really critique, but i'd just like to say that your drawings look incredible.  are you sending it to a school or a workplace?

Dec 19, 11 1:29 am  · 
 · 
derekmc825

Thank you very much. Im already at Cal Poly so I'm going to be sending it out to a bunch of offices/firms pretty soon

Dec 19, 11 4:12 am  · 
 · 
l3wis

hi derek, i have a few suggestions for you!

1) on your title page, i wouldn't break architecture into two lines. personally i would also add some heirarchy to the text there, instead of DMC ARCHITECTURE PORTFOLIO, something more like DMC architecture portfolio.

2) it may just be my screen, or issuu, but the (thin) text that you have as your body text is really difficult to read...

3) on your resume I would not list each individual restaurant you've worked at. i would generalize all your irrelevant work experience into something like 'food service industry positions 08-10, and then elaborate in smaller body text if you wish. you just want your arch. experience to be focused upon, not the three other jobs you held at restraurants.

also, do not seperate your jobs into 'design experience' and 'work experience'. same thing. call it all work experience, including freelance.

4) you feature alot of projects in a very consistent format-- which is great! but also it can become tedious to flip through them all...