Archinect
anchor

Is anyone else broke even though employed?

trendzetter

Hello everyone I would like to introduce myself, I am an Architect in America employed part time on an as needed basis, I survived the cuts of 2008 and 2009 but currently work for reduced salary and hours.  My question is has anyone else experianced reduced hours and pay to the point you simply can not afford to work anymore for your current firm?  I have stayed loyal to my employer for keeping the few of us left working for the last couple years but this is going on year number three and frankly I cant afford this arrangement.  The randomness of the work precludes me from getting a part time job since I never know the schedule.  I am licensed but not active and really dont know anyone who would be in need of an Architect, most people I know are other Architects and designers in similar situations.  I have been looking at labor jobs within construction for a comparable salary but the paycheck will be steady.  Any advice?  Will this look bad on my future resume when this economy turns around (bosses / owners chime in)?  Some have told me that if you leave the profession now you wont be coming back because of the lack of demand for architects and the over supply of us going forward.  I have negative $6 in my bank account to last me the next two weeks.  Sorry to whine but I'm at my mental limits looking for advice.

Apr 15, 11 8:27 pm
beekay31