Archinect
anchor

Accountant to Architect

skeerd

I am an accountant who is currently applying to grad school for architecture and was curious if anyone out there is in the same boat as me. I would be interested in talking with you about your experience with the transition.

Dec 13, 05 12:59 am
liberty bell

This is of no help to your question, but have you thought about staying in accounting and specializing in working with architecture firms? God knows my firm needs a really, really good accountant and fast!

No advice on the transition but you are potentially making yourself a very desireable employee for a firm in the future - good luck with it.

Dec 13, 05 8:50 am  · 
 · 
ichweiB

there is a girl in my studio from Russia who studied accounting in undergrad. she is doing fine. Obviously, she applied for Level I for having no previous experience in Architecture. I would not hesitate to continue pursuing a graduate degree in Architecture. Remember, when it comes to Level I, the program does not and should not expect you to have it all figured out yet-I doubt any of us ever will. So long as you provide convincing evidence through your applications process that you have the potential and dedication to be molded into a fine architect. Good luck!

Dec 13, 05 9:49 am  · 
 · 
DoYouWantCoffee

There were two economics majors in my class, who enjoyed different levels of success and felt underprepared for grad school. They both admitted to me that they wished they got more comfortable with drafting and modeling programs first, so that they could have put their full attention towards "studio, " and not waste time also learning the software that illustrated their ideas.

Dec 13, 05 11:50 am  · 
 · 
skeerd