Archinect
anchor

graduate school portfolio: critique

geland

Hello,

I am new here, but I was wondering if I could get some feedback on my portfolio for which I will be applying to graduate school for fall 2006. I am currently an undergraduate at the university of illinois @ chicago. So far, I am applying to tu delft, columbia, ucla, + cca. My portfolio is near a finished state, but I was hoping to get some feedback before its completion. Also, for people who have applied to any of these schools: What do you think are my chances for getting in?
I am a bit worried about its length, as it seems to be a bit long. Also, I was wondering if I should include a project that I did for work. I included it only because I was a very large part of it (design, dwgs, shops, fabrication, installation).

Any and all comments are very much appreciated.

portfolio address:
http://geland.smugmug.com

thank you,
gse

Oct 22, 05 11:34 pm
ichweiB

I am not at school at any of the places you are applying to; however, keep in mind that the reviewing committee will look at tons of portfolios...they really don't have time to read every little thing, but everything looks good. It is obvious that you can design. Good luck.

Oct 23, 05 12:46 am  · 
 · 
MMatt

Eh. So-so. Not bad, I guess. (Kidding, of course, Gelander. And I think I still owe you a beer when I get back to Chi).

(Dubious list of schools, but that's another conversation)

I'll be critical. Because I can.

My thoughts, sir:

Boathouse came out nice. I would urge towards less descriptive text on the first page of that (and every subsequent) project. It won't be read.

Page 2 of Lake Villa is by far the most interesting page, in my mind.

Boatrack is only mildly interesting, perhaps that and its "built couple" in the Print Room enclosure should be pushed more towards the rear of the portfolio, maybe before Penumbra?