ARCHITECTURAL movies

veuxdeux

the aeon flux trailer appears to have some nice architectural features

http://www.aeonflux.com/

Sep 5, 05 2:45 am  · 
 · 
upside

Has anyone mentioned Metropolis? If they have ignore this

Fantastic futurist city and the inspiration for some of the sets in blade runner I think.

There is a great scene where the machines in the factories seem to be operating the people, while the workers desperately try to keep up, metaphorical I guess but a very well shot and designed sequence.

The scale of the city is overwhelming.

John carpenters first movie as a film student, I can’t remember the name, it was about 4 astronauts slowly going insane in a tiny spaceship, no budget (the alien monster that attacks them was obviously a painted beach ball, you could even see the valve) but it had to be the most effectively claustrophobic movie apart from cube.

Sep 5, 05 6:00 am  · 
 · 
qunqing

nobody mentioned "the grudge"? the fear of a house

Sep 5, 05 10:38 am  · 
 · 
a-f

Speaking of japanese horror, why not Hideo Nakata's "Dark Water"? The fear of bad plumbing.

Sep 5, 05 10:52 am  · 
 · 
Tectonic

MICHAELANGELO ANTONIONI

Sep 5, 05 11:35 am  · 
 · 
tagalong

CITY OF GOD.

Sep 5, 05 12:35 pm  · 
 · 
jonchitect

"Layer Cake" it was just assigned as homework...what a drag. from the architectural dir. of photography to the social/economic layering it illustrates...also it's a cool english gangster flick

Sep 5, 05 5:26 pm  · 
 · 
stephanie

i just wanted to second me and you and everyone we know...
also,
waking life.
fellini's 8 1/2.
and any film by werner herzog.
i wouldn't really consider these architectural but i think they are beautiful, and worthy of conversation.

and, are the cremaster films available on DVD? i keep hearing this rumor, but think people are just confused with that one segment of cremaster 3, THE ORDER that is pretty easy to get your hands on (via netflix)...