Archinect
anchor

UNHAPPY WITH YOUR JOB?

olfof4

Overtime/Underpay Abuse affecting our profession in general - Forum...

POST YOUR DISCUSSIONS HERE @ ARCHITECT
Or email to
[email protected]
as we begin compiling resources

Every architect understands about the 3rd day of S.O.A. that they are destined to a life of long hours. What this forum hopes to discuss is the abuse which employees + principals do, and how that affects our profession at large.

I am a young architect with about 6 years experience trying to start an employee rights campaign/forum/discussion/website to hopefully help the profession of Architecture back in a positive trajectory.

HAVE YOU EVER WORKED MORE THAN 50 HOURS PER WEEK?
WAS YOUR STARTING PAY LESS THAN $10 PER HOUR?
HAVE YOU EVER INTERNED FOR FREE?
DO YOU EVER GET PAID FOR OVERTIME?
DO YOU RECEIVE LESS THAN 2 WEEKS PAID VACATION?
DO YOU NOT RECEIVE HEALTHCARE BENEFITS?
PRINCIPALS - HAVE YOU EVERY UNDERCUT ON A BID TO WIN A PROJECT?
HAVE YOU EVER PARTICIPATE IN A COMPETITION?

ALL PART OF THE PROBLEM

Every time an architect works that extra 10, 20, or 50 hours beyond their 40-50 hour week without additional compensation (pay or vacation), or accepts a low salary, or undercuts another firm to get a job, he/she is contributing to the problem.

Lets start at the bottom. Three people, each basic ”˜architect 1', all take a job for say $40K, at a firm. Then each of them works an average of 60 hours per week (which I am sure is not unfamiliar to any of you). Obviously it is a very simple equation - If the employee worked only 40 hours a week, then that employer would need to hire four people instead of just the three, which would cost him $160K not $120. Where do you think the additional monies come from? He obviously would have to charge more for his services instead of making less people do more overtime work for less money.

THE PROBLEM IS VERY SIMPLE: