Archinect
anchor

Is there any way to get equivalent qualification of M.Arch 1 after completing M.Arch 2? - About qualification to acquire Architect Licesne in USA.

Brandon Ji

Hello.

Now, I am preparing the application to M.Arch 1 or M.Arch 2 programs in Fall, 2012 season.

I graduated from a school which provide RIBA(Royal Institute of British Architects) Part 1 and Part 2 qualification, and acquired both qualification in 5-year architecture program. But, I want to study further in USA and work with Architect License in USA, and therefore, want to apply to M.Arch 2 program.

But, in the application process, I came to realize that any M.Arch 2 program is not accredited to NAAB board, and therefore, cannot get permission to apply license test. So, as far as I know, I need to apply M.Arch 1 program and complete courses to get qualification to apply the test. However, applying to M.Arch 1 program and taking elementary courses again is waste of my money and time, also.

So, I ask if any of you know how to get qualification to apply to the license test after completing the M.Arch 2 program, which is not accredited by NAAB.

Your comments would be big help to me.

Thank you.

Oct 6, 11 2:31 am
littlefred

The most efficient path to licensure for an individual in your situation is to apply for an EESA-NAAB evaluation of your coursework to date. The evaluation seems rather expensive at $1760, but when compared with the cost of a semester at any college or university offering a professional M.Arch program, it's a good value. Within a couple of months, you will be provided with a specific list of course requirements you need to take in order to establish the equivalency between your education to date and the NAAB professional degree requirements.