Archinect
anchor

3 days and two nights in New Orleans

design geek-girl

I'm going to be leaving tomorrow morning for New Orleans. It's my first time and I'm uber-excited. Any artsy/designy/geeky things I shouldn't miss?

Thanks guys!

Jun 16, 05 6:03 pm
spark

St. Louis Cemetery

Jun 16, 05 6:11 pm  · 
 · 
mac rebennack

So … I’m a native to New Orleans though I don’t live there at the
moment … I don’t think the city has much for designy things … you might want to check out the crumbling Piazza d’Italia by Charles Moore which is downtown for some Pomo history … in general though it’s the vernacular architecture that’s worth taking a look at … the floor to ceiling windows … wide porches … and trees lots and lots of beautiful oak trees !!! (apologies I’m a frustrated desert dweller at the moment) … to that end you might walk around the Garden District or take the street car down St. Charles Ave or explore around City Park | Midcity which has more of an alternative vibe … also all those river plantations are just a short drive from the city and are well worth a day trip … my own advice though would be to forget architecture and just go for the music … look for either Tipitina’s (Uptown) - Snug Harbor (Faubourg Marigny) - the Maple Leaf (off Carrolton) – the Jazz Preservation Hall (off Bourbon) – the Funky Butt (French Quarter) – all great places – enjoy …

Jun 17, 05 11:35 am  · 
 · 
MickMack

and you really have to go to Cafe du Monde and have beignets in Jackson Square! I agree with the NOLA native...just enjoy the sights, sounds and people there!

Jun 17, 05 11:47 am  · 
 · 
Ddot