Archinect
anchor

I'm an engineer looking for advice on doing an M.Arch degree

dassouki

Hello there,

I'm a 28 yearold engineer (very close to get my P.E.) and with a masters degree. I've been working in the infrastructure field for the last few years and my experience with structural is basic and not extensive.

For three years I worked in an archi / design firm and currently work for a strictly infrastructure company in highway design. I am not satisfied at my current job, and I miss design. I know this will come with a salary cut and increased stress but I think I'll be one happy engineer/designer.

I miss design and I miss designing stuff. I miss thinking about the design problem and solving, understanding how the spaces engage the users and the users will engage in a space. I miss the details and the macro level aspects. I'm not oblivious to the licensing aspects or the vast knowledge required to become an architect. I've read close to 10/15 books on the matter of architectural design and am quiet familiar with the structural and housing codes in Canada and somewhat IRC/IBC.
Some of the books that I've read recently are:

* 101 things I learnt in architecture school
* Form, space and order
* Visual dictionary of architecture
* Poetry of spaces
* Sun, Wind, and Light
* Experiencing Architecture
* The Dynamics of Architectural form
* In praise of shadows.

I’ve read other books as well, and not that it really matters, I’m an AutoCAD Ninja and have good knowledge of STAAD and Revit.