Archinect
anchor

CV / Resume - information to include

bilbobobo

Hey guys - working on my CV over here and had a couple of questions I thought I'd throw at the hive mind.

1) What kind of information do you want to have for individual projects listed in your CV?  I'm assuming general 'what it is', area, budget, and my responsibilities on the project.

2) What projects do I list in my CV?  Everything little thing I worked on, or just significant (by duration or program) projects?  I've got 6 years experience and I was thinking of including about 5-6 projects in the CV.

3) Do I want to include references in the CV, or include them in the cover letter, or hold them until interview time?

Thanks!

Sep 1, 11 7:22 pm
junior

include in CV:

1) name (contact info)

2) education

3) relevant work experience, including skills gained and applicable professional projects

4) references

If the file is in pdf format, you could make your CV a page before your work samples. Have your document in this order, at least it is how I have managed to organize things: Cover Letter, CV, work samples. Cover letter mainly highlights your personality/goals; a quick overview of your educational and professional experiences, as well as what aspirations you have of working within your applicable firm of choice. Be enthusiastic, yet to the point.

Sep 2, 11 1:46 am  · 
 · 
bilbobobo

Thanks Junior. I'm really curious about points 1 & 2. Just what kind, how thorough, of a project information section is desireable?

Sep 2, 11 8:50 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Do a google search for "architect resume."  You'll find dozens of useful examples--from the very good to the absolutely awful.  Look at a dozen or two and see which ones suit you.  As for project information, don't load it on, but keep it basic: size/area; program; budget; your contribution, in a few bullet points per project, then move on.