Archinect
anchor

Job Interview question about software

Paradox

Hi,

I'm in process of going to job interviews and one of the questions I get asked is "have you used the ... program professionally?". They ask me what I've done since I graduated and I tell them I've been trying to improve myself by learning additional software. Most of the time I learn it by myself but for example in the case of 3ds max I took classes and I showed them the work I did in the class. They asked me if I used the program professionally aka in an office setting and when I said no I saw some kind of disapproval in their faces. Is there really a big difference between using a program, practicing it at home vs. using it in an office? If there is then how is it different and how would you suggest I should answer that question.

Thanks.

Aug 31, 11 8:14 am
postal

Unfortunately, yes, paradoxx, to some degree there is a difference in tooling around with a program for school or on your own and using it professionally.  However, I'm not sure why there was such disapproval.  It could be related to a prior experience.  Everyone is going around making claims about what software they know, thinking they can pick it up quickly in the first week.

I think instead of answering "no", I think I would go a little more into detail on how you developed your tasks and your approach.  They want to see something closely aligned with a professional environment, not randomly turning all the dials and knobs on your rendering settings till you got something that looked cool.  The office wants to know if you know how to do something the first time, that you know which minor setting to adjust when asked so that it takes you 5 min to do something rather than a day.