Archinect
anchor

Grad degree vs work experience over time

dary410

is grad school necessary for an architects career advancement? In what aspect is it beneficial? If cost is really an issue.. Is it really worth it? Would work experience even out the need for the master degree over time or the other way.

Although I only have a BA arch degree.. I am working and living in CA so getting licensed here without a Professional degree is ok! Given I'm only a BA degree I would have to do a three year or 3.5 year at most school I look at. Cost range $100k to $170k for them if without financial aid. another option is doing some MS arch nonprofessional degree for 1-2 yr effectively cutting down the cost OR going for an MBA ish degree (best if it's part-time)

I have three years of work experience .... I woul like people with more experience comment on what they value in the long run.

Aug 25, 11 10:48 am
marmkid

what kind of career path do you want to be on?  Some require a master's, others do not

Aug 25, 11 11:52 am  · 
 · 
dary410

What are the different career path and which requires master? Do you mean by design oriented vs corporate firms? Or like traditional arch firm vs developer firm. I have been I guess on the traditional arch path? Started as junior designer given more tasks and as I see my project manager work they all into business side of archi. Little in actual design. I guess my firm is pretty corporate. So is it true that if I want to go into more design oriented firms I would need that master to advance my career? Or can I do it with just work experience and achieve the same result. Thanks for the responses!

Aug 25, 11 12:29 pm  · 
 · 
morgan2sims

hey dary410, can i check with you what MS arch nonprof degree are you talking about specifically?

Aug 25, 11 12:40 pm  · 
 · 
dary410