Archinect
anchor

Questions About IDP

kylec14

I am a high school student to wants to become an architect. I already know about education although I have questions about the IDP. From what I know the IDP is the experience portion of the path to licensure and becoming an architect. I believe that you work in an architecture firm as an intern to gain experience as to what is like to be an architect and work with clients. And I believe that there is something to do with eligibility and you have to document when  you work and what you do and send it to the NCARB. That is all I know. Can someone enlighten me about the IDP. When do you do your IDP? Before your earn your accredited degree? After you earn your accredited degree? Before of after you take the ARE? Can you pick any firm, be hired, and do your IDP there? How does it all work? I would be delighted with any help you can give. I have recieved a lot of help on this website about education, now I have questions about the next phase of becoming an architect. Your help will be greatly appreciated!

Aug 8, 11 9:53 pm

In your case, I would start at year 3 or 4 of a 5 year B.Arch program or similar time during a pre-professional degree. Reason: You don't have any professional experience designing buildings for real clients and you need to get some formal architectural knowledge so that you aren't entering a job unprepared. Remember it is a real job you are applying for when you are doing IDP training.