Archinect
anchor

Additional licenses for states other than the one initially licensed in?

kylec14

Hi! I am a high school student who is interested in becoming an architect. I have some questions about licensure. If I were to receive my initial license from the State of Rhode Island and also do my IDP with a firm in Rhode Island, how difficult would it be to get additiona licenses in New York, Massachusetts, and Connecticut? I think that in New York where I currently reside which has different experience guidelines then the NCARB. In New York I think that you have to do additional experience work and do your IDP in New York in order to get a license. Is this true? What about in MA & CT?

Aug 7, 11 9:36 pm
logon'slogin

Wow! 

Aug 7, 11 9:52 pm  · 
 · 
quizzical

Once you become licensed in one state you can obtain NCARB certification. NCARB certification allows you to obtain licenses in other states through a process called 'reciprocity' - meaning most states will issue a license in their state based on your having passed the ARE. Some states - for example CA - have more stringent standards for licensure. Those states may require additional testing on special topics. Visit NCARB's website where you can learn more about certification and reciprocity.

Aug 7, 11 10:25 pm  · 
 · 

kylec,

You can do your IDP anywhere and your schooling anywhere. If you obtain an NAAB accredited Professional degree in Architecture ( B.Arch - the 5 year long program ) and complete the 5600 Training Hours. NOTE: Training hours does NOT necessarily mean all your work hours. IDP can be explained more in depth later. You have to have training hours in a number of training areas as indicated on NCARB's website.

http://www.ncarb.org/