Archinect
anchor

Is it realistic to aim for an international entry level remote job

Hello! I’m an architecture student in my final year (took a break this semester). Right now, I’m freelancing by helping other architecture students with their projects, and while the income is quite good (much better to what an intern does), I feel stuck because I should be progressing professionally.

I’ve been using Revit for four years and have developed some solid skills in architectural modeling. I also been focusing on Dynamo lately, and it’s becoming a bit of a specialization for me. This is why I’ve started looking for entry-level jobs, particularly with companies that work remotely and use Revit, as I feel that’s where I have the best chance of getting hired.

I’m looking for opportunities internationally because the job market in my country is very informal and the pay is LOW (worked on a building management company for a some months and oof). Additionally, I have a parent who'll need an expensive medical treatment in a few months, which has motivated me to explore jobs in countries with higher wages. I really that by finding a remote job abroad, I can support my family and grow as a professional but a part of me feels like my goal is unrealistic and that these emails or job applications might never even get read, or that my nationality will be an issue, but I figured it’s worth a shot. What do you think? Am I being dumb?

Oct 16, 24 5:42 pm
smaarch

The  higher wages will be sucked up by the local economy. That's way economies work.
I wish you and your family well.

Oct 16, 24 6:35 pm  · 
 · 
OddArchitect

You make more helping students with their projects than being a first year intern?  The average starting pay for an intern is around $42k in the US.  This varies depending on where you are.