Archinect
anchor

Portfolio preference for job application

Sarah Hall

Hi, this is my first time posting here. I am an architecture student getting ready to graduate soon and was curious about what firms seem to be looking for today as older and younger architecture professors have given me very different answers to this question. I have a clean and simple digital portfolio, but instead of being a PDF it is instead an interactive website. I've had no problem getting internships with this portfolio but since I am graduating soon I want to know if I should start over and create a more traditional PDF portfolio or if most firms would be alright with clicking through my works on a website if I attached the link to it instead.

Aug 3, 23 11:10 am
natematt

When I graduated 10 years ago, I submitted a few pages of PDF work samples and a link to a website... I also had an actual portfolio too if people wanted it, no one ever asked.

That said, recently being on the other end of this, helping review portfolio's for my office, something like 98% of people just submitted a PDF portfolio. So I'd say that is the more straightforward approach. If you're going to submit a website, I feel like you need to include some sort of teaser. Where I think that is particularly beneficial is if for some reason you have content that is hard to include in a PDF. One of the two website portfolio's we got had a lot of animation type stuff that was really impressive and worked better in that format for obvious reasons... we still didn't hire that person though, just wasn't the right fit.

Aug 3, 23 11:53 am  · 
 · 
I don’t know why web-based wouldn’t be fine.
For entry-level, the primary things we want to see are design sensibility/attentiveness and demonstrated software skills (with types of software ID’d). The rest we assume we’ll teach as you grow with us.
Aug 3, 23 11:55 am  · 
1  · 
monosierra