Archinect
anchor

Copying Details

Larchstein

I am a Landscape Architect running a small practice in the US. 

About a month ago a client whom we have a long and bumpy history with called to ask us to put together a set of plans... in less than a week.

I didnt realize the timeline until the end of the zoom call (where I was taking time out of my vacation) and had shared some intial ideas. After the call I followed up to let the client know there would be no way for my office to complete the work in the given timeframe.

Didnt hear anything else...

I asked about the project again a couple days ago and didnt get a response so I went on to the planning boards agenda and pulled the packet to find the project with plans by another LA..OK whatever...

BUT, the second sheet in the plan set which is on the civil engineers titleblock and includes both the other LA's logo and seal is showing our firms details. 

They are basic, standard details, but very clearly ours. They are for plantings, paving, and edging for what it's worth.

I was kind of annoyed that:

A. The other LA took the 'shrub it up' job on extremely short notice. This is a bigger discussion. I think it cheapens our value as a profession if we cave to every absurd request and lowball each other.

B. They aped our concept design and clearly copied and pasted our details.

I want to call all parties out on the BS out of principle. But also recognize our time working with the developer is limited (It's been a slight trainwreck for a couple years and I've tried to quit several times). The CE firm has given us 6 figures worth of work, but it is managed by a different group within the firm. 

What would you do? Call the BS, ask them to remove our drawings and resubmit? Report to professional licensing board? Cut losses and move on...little of both?

I'm big on respect and integrity and feel this is crossing a line.

Jun 24, 23 10:28 pm
archanonymous