Archinect
anchor

How to Leave a Toxic Firm

SouthCoast

Hello Everyone, 

This is going to be as anonymous as possible.  I am a recent masters graduate working at an unnamed firm somewhere in Colorado.  I have been employed for two years at my current office. 

Without getting into too much detail, the office basically doesn’t function, and I think it’s time to leave - though it’s not that simple.

This was a large and vastly popular practice before 2008, but contracted severely during the recession, and has remained at that size.  There are no benefits, no bonuses, and pretty much everyone (aside from the principals) is a 1099 (including myself) making below average wages. They refuse to hire any actual actual employees, the mindset being that the economy could collapse at any second.  They operate by obsessing over the operating ratio and focussing only on cashflow one month at a time.  It has destroyed our ability to efficiently respond to client needs.   

I think I’ve maybe experienced one meeting in two years.  We never meet to discuss goals or expectations.  Employees/contractors are expected to understand without communication; communication is seen as costly and time consuming.  Both principals operate in isolation from each other on the same projects.  The results are embarrassing for the firm.

There are frequent outbursts from principals, yelling at employees, expecting weekend overtime, and intrusive calls and e-mails through the night and on weekends.  Ignoring these things gets you in hot water.  They haven’t fired anyone because of how busy they are. 

I have been planning on leaving since November.  I have some exciting prospects to focus on.  However, I have become so entangled with the management of our clients/projects and drawing production that my leaving the office would cause workflow to stop.  They don’t know I’m planning on a change, but have warned me (and others) against leaving, knowing how disrupted the office would become.