Archinect
anchor

Architects - How long did it take you to know this was what you wanted to be doing with your life?

pipes dream

I am a 2018 graduate with a B Arch. I was late 20s when I graduated, so past the traditional college age student. I didn't love architecture school, I felt like I struggled and never really got the big picture of what I was supposed to be doing. I am artistic and creative, and I always passed studio, but I never seemed to succeed in conveying my ideas well. I think ultimately what I enjoyed most in school was architectural history, and appreciating the beauty of architecture, and I struggled with the technical stuff (and still do). Like I told a coworker at a previous job once, when I am inside a beautiful building, I am not curious about how it is standing, I merely appreciate the beauty of what it makes me feel...she advised I not tell prospective employers this in a job interview, lol. I also never mastered great time management, and even as a senior was pulling all nighters, much to my embarrassment, as I felt this was something I should have figured out after year one/two. Ultimately what motivated me to finish was that partly I didn't want to give up, I wasn't getting any younger and didn't have much to show for my age, and the motivation that once I had the piece of paper, I could do whatever I wanted.

But upon graduation I still applied to architecture positions, because I thought I should give it a shot. There is a big difference between academia and practice, or so I was told, so I thought perhaps I might enjoy professional practice more than school, however, 4 years in, this does not appear to be the case.