Archinect
anchor

Transition from small to large firm

przemula

I have currently 4-5 years experience in industry + before that I spent couple of years in interior/furniture design companies. Currently employed in 10-15 people firm in one of the largest cities in US - my previous firm was even smaller, around 5 people (though I received my education in Europe, I'm currently taking AREs and I'm going to start evaluating my degree soon). In those firms I worked mostly on a lot of SFRs, then some multi-unit & mixed use buildings, and commercial buildouts... what most of the small firms here typically do. I'd love to secure a position with larger firm that would allow me to work on big commercial & residential projects, unfortunately with mostly single family houses in my portfolio, I feel like I'm not sparking much of an interest (I had few interviews and even received one offer from a large firm, but they were focused on hospitality projects, which doesn't interest me). Does anyone have any tips or advises?

Oct 15, 22 9:11 pm
DickCheney

I work at a large office. I have reviewed a ton of portfolios coming in. For interiors, I see a ton of people with residential experience, lobby work, small commercial (restaurants, etc.) I think it is all about how you curate your work and also express your interest in a new type of project work. 4-5 years experience is still very young and more importantly is your ability to have a keen eye to design, everything else CAN be taught.

I think it depends what size of an office you want to get into and what exactly interests you in their work. I think a mid sized office is a good sweet spot, 100-300 people.

Oct 16, 22 12:44 am  · 
 · 
reallynotmyname

You need to eliminate all houses out of your portfolio when applying to a commercial firm.   Employers are hesitant to roll the dice on someone's chances of successfully moving from residential to commercial and will gravitate to people with proven commercial experience.