Archinect
anchor

M.Arch I&II 2023 Application Status

dwem403

Hi everyone,

Congratulations to those who have been admitted. It has been a pleasure seeing everyone's exciting next steps.

I hope this message doesn't interrupt the flow, but I was hoping to receive some advice on my current and future applications.

I am an international student who has been working for almost four years at a top-tier creative agency (company name confidential). In addition to my day job, I have been constantly working on personal projects that have been showcased in galleries and museums.

My GPA is based on the British system, and I graduated with first-class honors in BFA, receiving scholarships every year. However, the drawback is that the school I attended isn't widely known.

I only applied to three schools: MIT Media Lab, GSD MDes(Medium), and MIT SMACT, mainly due to my daytime work schedule, which ends at 10 pm+ because of the projects I handle.

I believe I had a decent SOP and portfolio, as I reviewed my application materials with my talented colleagues to ensure they were fine.

I was thrilled to know that I made it to the first round of MIT Media Lab schools that I applied to, but I don't think I made it to the interview after the second round. However, I had no expectations of getting into Media Lab.

Although I did not get into GSD MDes, I did get an interview with MIT SMACT faculties and wrapped up on a good note. However, I had to wait almost a month for the results, and I was notified of my rejection last week.

I know that I applied to too few schools, all from prestigious lists, and I intend to apply to more schools next round for sure. I have a couple of questions to ask all of you:

• Does re-applying ever work positively?
  • Where do you see the weakness in my application based on the results?

Thanks in advance. I am really lost about my next step now.

Mar 27, 23 10:02 pm  · 
 · 
Miss.Dani