Archinect
anchor

Finder's Fee/Compensation

musingarchitect

I am an Associate at the firm I work at in Canada. I just brought in a major client (got our foot in the door through personal connections since my friend handles the finances for a developer and let me know they are looking for new architects). The deal has not gone through just yet, but we could be looking at a 300K+ contract, and although it was "personal connections" I did have to put together our portfolio and handle the meetings and essentially "charm" them and convince the client to go with us. It is my first time bringing in a client, it is a part of my job scope as an Associate but my personal contract does not mention a commission for bringing in clients. Is it common to charge a finder's fee in our profession? I have looked into this and their are very mixed messages out there. My sister is a lawyer and they do it all the time at their law firm. It is not clear yet if I will be the project architect for this new job yet since I am very busy but I would still like to get compensated! Should I speak to my boss prior to the contract going through? Any help/advice is much appreciated!  

Aug 26, 22 12:07 pm
Non Sequitur

Not common at all... and might be seen the wrong way from other management staff.  While you might have brought in this particular client... profitability on the project is not yet known so asking for cash upfront without knowing if the firm will make money is a non-starter.  What you should be doing is using this new client as a stepping stone to rise up in the current office and claim a greater % of total office profit shares.  A far more reasonable and likely lucrative option vs a one time cash bonus.   

Aug 26, 22 12:19 pm  · 
5  · 
musingarchitect