Archinect
anchor

Masters Program at Lund University

lisanvenice

I am an older non traditional student finishing up my BA in Architectural History from UC Santa Barbara in Lund Sweden.  I was considering applying for grad school in architecture or interning with a firm when I return home to California. I like it here in Sweden very much and I LOVE the philosophy of the architecture department here.  They teach in English and it’s only a two year program.  How is this degree viewed by NAAB?  And what do you all think about the idea of interning in order to sit of the licensing exam ( CA asks for ten years of experience without Architecture degree)

Some background, I left an industrial design program with one semester to go before graduation.  I was broken and had family issues ( husband had cancer school didn’t care). When he got his first job across the country, I could have stayed and finished my degree but I was not feeling the love at the fancy art school I was enrolled at.  I followed Dh to CA, adopted four kids from foster care and built a life.  I returned to community college to take CAD classes to get work and help fund my kid’s college education.  I made the mistake of also adding a couple of studios into my schedule ( to give me more interning things to draft) and remembered my love of design.  This time instead of furniture and products I was looking at the built environment and decided go back to school.  It has been a long road.  Since my units from fancy art school were more than ten years old I was told I could not come back to finish and I could not transfer.  So I started over at a community college as a fifty something freshman and transferred to the UC last summer.  I finished a two year program in 10 months by taking an insane course load.  I was done in June but UCSB offered me a huge scholarship to study abroad.  That’s how I got to Lund.  I’m studying Scandinavian design and urbanism.

Thanks in advance for advice 

Aug 22, 22 4:15 am