Archinect
anchor

Accepted Job offer, then got a much better offer from a different office

muspafe

Hi all, 

I had been on the job hunt for a little while and when Firm A reached out to interview, I accepted. All went well, and they immediately made me an Offer. After spending a weekend on it, I excitedly accepted. It seemed like the right step up for me.

Three days later, however, Firm B - a much bigger and renowned firm reached out for an interview, which I took out of curiosity and to not ghost them. I made the mistake of not informing them that I had accepted an offer. They then proceeded to make me an offer the same day. This offer is overall much better, pays more, and since I am also looking for work sponsorship (I am an international student), much much secure since it's a firm with more resources and would be a better career move. 

My first day at Firm A is next week and I would hate to be someone who backtracks on their word, but I feel like if I don't take this opportunity at Firm B, I will regret it. I fear that I will burn all bridges with Firm A if I accept Firm B's offer at this last moment and leave them in a bad position as well, and of course, I am afraid of any possible repercussions.

It seems like going with Firm B is the obvious decision and choice but I am just hesitant to do it since I already told Firm A Yes. 

Appreciate the recommendations!

Aug 16, 22 7:21 pm
Non Sequitur

Speaking from someone who's felt the sting of having new/returning staff suddenly decide not to come back when we've ear-marked work for them... I'd say it's a dick move but I would not blame you for making the choice.  It depends on how small your market.  My friends and I  certainly circulate tarnished names amongst ourselves to warn of potential sketchy candidates, but we're a small and tight market.

Good luck in firm B.  No need to worry too much.

Aug 16, 22 8:11 pm  · 
5  ·  1
muspafe