Archinect
anchor

I need inspiration/guidance for when I'm too damn tired.

archKash

A while ago I made a post about whether I should go to M.arch graduate school or join the successful family business in low voltage security. 

I studied business in university and really hated it. I taught myself Rhino, V-Ray and Adobe software out of self interest. I have been designing/rendering products for a couple of years as that is what I love doing. But after getting married, my father swayed me to join the business, even for just a few years. I am currently working 10-12 hour shifts doing jobs that I really hate like programming TV remotes and testing fire systems... etc. There is a lot of workflow streamlining that I am planning on implementing once I am more familiar with the business in general -there are a ton of issues and the environment is very cut-throat. I am thankful for the opportunity but I really cannot see myself doing this into my thirties. I really dread going to sleep and redoing just another day of alarm installations. I feel so misplaced because I love designing. Even if his company was a product company instead of a service company, I would be more content. 

Anyway, on off days I do spent a lot of time designing products and buildings. I do freelance work and personal projects. However, after a long day on my feet I have a hard time being vertical. I always thought designing was not work to me but after a 10 hour shift, I can't sit on Rhino. 

So if anyone has any encouragement or guidance, it would be much appreciated. I'm sure this is not a unique situation. I have been sketching a lot more. I just really want to create a great portfolio for M.arch programs and I'm only getting older. 

Thanks!

Jul 11, 22 8:55 pm
newbie.Phronesis