Archinect
anchor

Haven't practiced architecture since I graduated; Accidentally accepted a freelance job that might be too much for me. What do I do?

kibugogo

I graduated 3 years ago. Architecture school was a rocky journey for me but it culminated on a high note; I landed my very first project not too long after graduating and then I went out to find a job... right as the pandemic started. Not even a fully realized project on the CV was able to help me land a job when there was so much uncertainty, so I ended up getting a completely unrelated job at a friend's print shop. 

I recently started checking architecture job listings, and not only do I get a little discouraged because the wages are kind of terrible, but also because after 3 years of hiatus, I don't have the "experience" to even apply. 

Today, however, I received a call from one of the shop's usual clients who was told that I helped design some brand identity for a clinic, as well as some furniture, and now wants me to be his architect for his own project. I didn't know how to explain that I didn't literally build a clinic and that I simply helped my graphic design friend make some measurements so we could put some vinyl decorations on the walls and that all I did was simple furniture designs to outsource, so I accidentally agreed to meet them up a couple days from now to actually hear what the project is all about. 

I think I said yes absentmindedly because a lot of issues were piling up in my head: My family who comments on how I went to college just to end up not doing architecture for a living, my friend who has his own business and is growing whilst I'm stuck not knowing where to progress and time going by and me not practicing architecture in the least.