Archinect
anchor

After how many years of experience did you remove school projects from portfolio?

ArchKid

I slowly reduced my school projects from 2-3 projects to just my thesis project. I have about 5 years of professional experience, when is it ideal to remove school projects.

Mar 16, 22 4:53 pm
54angles

One year out of school. I don't care about school junk nor do I ask anyone else about their stuff from years ago. 

Mar 16, 22 6:45 pm  · 
 · 
natematt

I'd be very skeptical of someone who's school work is not a much better indicator of their abilities than their first year in the profession.

Mar 16, 22 7:13 pm  · 
 · 
ArchKid

I mean for me,

Mar 17, 22 12:30 am  · 
 · 
ArchKid

I mean for me, I don’t do much of these fancy diagrams to explain my design concepts. I do mostly full construction Drawings from permit to closing documents. And school is the only time I actually did design development.

Mar 17, 22 12:32 am  · 
 · 
54angles

I didn't look to switch jobs after a year and by the time I did need something, school work was irrelevant to what I wanted to demonstrate. You can either ask to see outdated school projects or see what I have been doing since then.

Mar 17, 22 1:53 am  · 
 · 

54angles - don't be a douche.  This is your only warning. 

Your advice isn't helpful and is quite frankly worthless as it only applies to your unique and specific situation.  In addition anyone should be interested in what potential team members 'did years ago'. 

Mar 17, 22 11:54 am  · 
 · 
proto

tune the portfolio for the jobs you want

remove old projects as you get better ones to replace them

could be 3mos or 3yrs or 10yrs

Mar 16, 22 7:32 pm  · 
4  · 
msparchitect