Archinect
anchor

Would young you be happy with your decision to become an architect?

MiesVanDerWoah

As the title suggests, I'd love to start a conversation about how the profession has treated you compared to what you were hoping for when you first fell in love with architecture as a student. I see a lot of people on here who seem a bit sour about the industry and I wonder if you feel that the time and money you invested to become an architect were worth it looking back. Are you financially comfortable? Do you enjoy the work you do?

I myself am currently weighing my 3 year MArch offers (Michigan, UVA, Pratt, RISD) and wanted to hear how people much further along in their careers than myself feel about this path. 

As of now I work as a designer at a firm that does mostly multi-family residential projects. I really like the people I work with and I'm learning a ton. It's not the most innovative work and I don't make much money but I think I have a pretty good gig for somebody with only a BA from a liberal arts school to my name. 

I loved the academic studios in my undergrad and at GSD's design discovery. I find concept development and formal manipulation of my ideas so thrilling but is any of real world architecture actually like this? At least the kind that makes any money at all? Are the only people who actually get to do this the top dogs at places like Snohetta, DSR, BIG, etc. while everybody else just pumps out details and technical drawings for them?

I don't care about being filthy rich and I don't need to be a famous spaceshipy starchitect but I want to feel like I can provide for a family living in a northeast city and enjoy things like good food and occasional travel while also doing work that I find exciting and creative. Is that a fantasy or possible?

TLDR:

Can architects make a comfortable living AND get to do exciting design based work? Any advice for finding that sweet spot?

Mar 15, 22 11:42 am
SneakyPete