Archinect
anchor

HELP! Going into MArch or Start Career in Hospitality Design?

anaisziwei

I hold a BA Architecture Degree. And also received an offer for MArch.

Currently I hold an offer for Hospitality Design (Junior Design) with Hirsch Bedner Associates. They do luxurious hotel designs.

Should I just give up the idea of doing my MArch and just begin my career in Hospitality Design? 

Mar 7, 22 5:59 am

What will you do if:

1. The company folds before you have enough experience to leverage a job with another company?

2. The hospitality market has a down turn?

3. You end up not liking hospitality design?

4. Do you have family responsibilities?

The decision is yours to make. 

Imo an March has a more certain future of possibilities.

Again, your decision.

Mar 7, 22 1:07 pm  · 
 · 
anaisziwei

Thank u!

Mar 8, 22 12:17 am  · 
 · 

Finish your accredited degree.  

Doing so will allow you to become licensed in all 50 states with only 3,000 hours or so of AXP. (vs 20,000 hours for just one state) You will be more marketable and have more opportunities in the future.  

Good luck

Mar 7, 22 1:18 pm  · 
 · 
anaisziwei

Thank you for ur advise too.

Mar 17, 22 12:23 pm  · 
 · 
anaisziwei

Thank you for ur advise too.

Mar 17, 22 12:23 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

I would do your M.Arch - never put your eggs in one basket, you're trying to beat the house and you will lose - High end Luxo Hotels in wartime is a very risky bet. - This war in Ukraine is going to be a long hard slog, that has a 75% chance of causing a deep recession - 

Mar 7, 22 1:24 pm  · 
 · 

Without something to back up your last statement that's some alarmist speculation.

Mar 7, 22 3:05 pm  · 
 · 
anaisziwei

Thank you guys.

After major discussion with my professors, families, friends etc, I am going to go with the opportunity for Hotel Design as I was promised to be transferred to their Thailand office after a year with them.