Archinect
anchor

Insurance for small residential work.

SBKD

I am a licensed architect working at a small firm.   I do some small residential addition work on the side and provide stamped documents.  

What level, if any insurance is advisable or required for these freelance projects?  My review of similar posts leave me uncertain.

Thank you.

Jan 30, 22 7:23 pm
proto

what do you think your liability is for the amount & type of work done?

Jan 30, 22 8:13 pm  · 
 · 
rcz1001

SBKD, 

In the state where I am, a construction contractor (residential general contractor tier) is required to carry a minimum of a  $500,000 per occurance general liability insurance and $20,000 surety bond. An RGC tier contractor would be responsible for every trade employed to construct the project. You are a licensed architect so you're making design decisions relating to every single trade of construction that is involved to build the project. You're Professional Liability / E&O insurance should at least be comparable to a residential general contractor's insurance....... IF you were doing this full-time. Since you're not, you might have some pro-rating but then again, the volume of work you may have may effect your insurance rate. In my opinion, $250,000 E&O / professional liability insurance at the very least if you carry any. Consider the value of the cost of construction for such a project and what happens if a complete catastrophic disaster occured resulting from your errors or omissions and the structure needs to be re-built.