Archinect
anchor

A Better Workplace Discussion

dominiond

So most of us have probably heard of the "Great Resignation/Great Reshuffle"- since architecture firms are notorious for treating their employees badly (expectation of long work hours, toxic management, huge egos in leadership, low pay, sexism, bias, racism etc...), is the profession at all having an internal reckoning to retain and develop its talent or are firms digging in their heels and staying in old mindsets under the banner of "CREATIVITY"? In my U.S. Northeast city, most firms seems to be begrudging realize they need to do hybrid now, but all of the leadership are plotting to go back to "business as usual" as soon as Covid cases drop.

Personally, I am thinking of jumping to a tech firm which offers a remote schedule since my firm's leadership keeps thinking that collaboration cannot happen virtually and wants to phase out our hybrid work schedule. BTW: I have 15 years of experience and lead a studio before all the dinosaurs start griping about "these kids today..." Of course, our profession requires in person meetings and interactions at times- it just needs to be intentional and purposeful. Not because Mr. 25 year architect needs to pull out their trace, scribble and then drop it in the lap of a PA to "figure it out." 

Read these research findings below about the general work population so hope that others will share what they see their companies are doing to substantively improve the work culture, if it all- thanks all.  

"What Workers Want

Employees are shifting from live-to-work to work-to-live mentalities, after the pandemic forced them to re-evaluate their lifestyle priorities. Consumers are looking to recalibrate their work-life balance, demanding flexibility as a standard and pursuing value-led employment while banding together to ensure equity for all.