Archinect
anchor

My sad situation that I ended up being in because of the architecture university

ioneljhon

Hello! I don't know if this is the right place for asking for advice, but I hope people that understand me to be able give me a helping hand.

I am an architecture student in year 4 with some passion in the domain. I've fought alot and stood hours on my projects even if they were not always great, but at least I did it with "love"(to call it like this haha) and I managed to pass all of them until now.

The problem is that I started to feel less and less interested in this university and job. I started to care very little because I told myself that I won't let a job to murder me from inside because of stress and overworking. The stories about the bad salary and toxic job system also demoralized me.

Now I am at a point where I just do the least necessary in order to pass, I preffer my free time over time for learning/uni. Even after I finish, I told myself that I'll try the designer job, but if it's too much for me I'll just reorient myself.

I've told myself multiple times that maybe it's time to leave because it's nonsense to continue something after the idea "Maybe I'll like it, maybe not", but I managed to get so far(I have only 2 more years) and my mother would get crazy to see me giving up after so much. I should also say that I have a passion in architecture: I find myself playing different architecture-related games and reading stuff about it that I find interesting, but the overworking the uni requires and the stories about how bad the designer job is jus tmurders it for me when it come sto real life.

What is your opinion? Should I eat 2 more years and see what comes or I should just give up?

Nov 26, 21 1:35 am
randomised

I wouldn't base any important life decision on 2nd hand "stories" or "opinions".

So, you don't like university? Great! Because your job most likely won't be anything like uni ;-)

Nov 26, 21 7:59 am  · 
4  · 
midlander