Archinect
anchor

Gender Equality in Architectural Design?

Khangggl

Hi, I am a first-year arch student who is making a presentation about how to ensure gender equality in design (the space that the experience for men and women are equal, or can be used comfortably for both genders). I am finding some strong evidence that shows gender equality in design (can be any building, project). I hope to have your suggestion, even just a little detail in a building that shows gender equality is OK too! I appreciate all your help.

Nov 21, 21 4:09 pm
Wood Guy

How about you start us off with some of your ideas and maybe we'll comment or suggest a few of our own. This isn't a place to crowd-source your homework. 

Nov 21, 21 4:33 pm  · 
5  · 
b3tadine[sutures]

Equality, or Equity? If your answers can't elucidate the difference, or if you aren't inclusive in your definition of gender, might I suggest you not start with looking at "architecture", but delve into more theoretical texts on gender. 

Nov 21, 21 5:58 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

I love the “I have found many examples but I’d just like to know what others have first” ruse. Who ever is daft enough to think this will work is not going very far in academia. 

Nov 21, 21 7:29 pm  · 
3  · 
curtkram

i'd start with the plumbing code

Nov 21, 21 10:07 pm  · 
1  · 
x-jla

oh for god sake.  Be brave and different.  You must know this is nonsense.  Don’t waste your education massaging the egos of these fakes.  Challenge the orthodoxy.  Look to history, anthropology, psychology if really interested in gender.  Besides toilets and urinals and maybe thermostats, architecture as little do with gender.  Must we shoe horn everything into this nonsense narrative?

Nov 21, 21 11:06 pm  · 
 · 
Wood Guy

I always forget, do extreme libertarians like you think that women and men are fundamentally opposite with no overlap, or fundamentally the same in every regard? Because in either case, biology would like to have a word with you...