Archinect
anchor

Too many group projects in a portfolio?

SoapTips

Hello,
Are employers skeptical of portfolios that have a lot of group work? Is it bad to have more group projects than individual work?
I am currently in my third year in a 5 year MArch program. I have been given the opportunity to join a non-traditional studio where I help design a house that will be built by another studio the following year. I am interested, but wondering if this would be a bad idea. I currently have a lot of group projects in my portfolio, because the professors I have had so far have valued group projects. This would be my second design build studio.

Oct 14, 21 1:55 pm

Great question. Two quick thoughts:

1. As far as studio, do what interests you, and what you think will help you learn and grow the most. Don't let your portfolio drive your education too much. Perhaps if you've only done group projects, a project on your own would be a healthy exploration; but if you really want to do the non-traditional studio, do that!

2. For group projects in your portfolio, think about how you can illustrate what your role was in the group process in your portfolio. Don't just include final renderings- use your own sketches, or details, or whatever you contributed to tell the story of how your effort intersected with the group effort, and help shape the end product.

Oct 14, 21 3:08 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Group work in folios is only suspicious if the applicant can't accurately describe their role and contribution to said group project... but our office has been burned on more than one occasion when the applicant used group projects to boost their own competence... and failed to live up to it when hired.  With that said, focus on the studio experience and the learning opportunities.  You control what goes into a folio in the end so curate as required to show your skills... not just a completed group project (which few employers will care about).

Oct 14, 21 3:17 pm  · 
2  ·