Archinect
anchor

Summertime sadness

Khangggl

Hi all, I am going to attend an architecture school (1st year)  this fall semester and I need some advice

Before summer, I am a proficient artist, I could draw and sketch everything fast and nice. My portfolio for the university was amazing and I am really proud of it.

During summer, I become shamefully lazy that I have not even touched the pencil for 1,5 months. I spent time playing VG to kill time and hanging out with guys.

It is the beginning of August now and both my sketching and creativity skills are badly decreased, I started to pick up my pencil 3 days ago and I got trouble with drawing a straight line! I had to spend a day getting used to it. My brain is completely empty, I could not think fluently like before, and I am pretty sure that I could not remake anything looks good like my university portfolio which I did 3 months ago. It took me hours to measure and sketch a house, which I should have done comfortably in 30 minutes. I am so confused and worry, the school year will begin next month and I think I could not follow up.

I need some advice on how to catch up and recover my skills like before the summer (both sketching and creativity). I am practicing and I think it is improving slowly, but I could fall to laziness easily because I kinda lost direction and I found those skills are somehow so difficult for me at this time. I have not done any review on science yet, but I think it is fading out of my brain too :((  I appreciate all advice and recommendations on how to catch up and prepare for the 1st school year.

(image J4F)

Jul 31, 21 3:52 pm
randomised

don’t worry, you’ll be back at it in no time when in a normal school environment...can’t force it when in holiday mode, just take it easy and rest that’s what holidays are for.

Jul 31, 21 4:02 pm  · 
6  · 
OneLostArchitect

just enjoy yourself. Do something fun and exciting. Go visit some inspiring buildings, etc. 

Jul 31, 21 4:25 pm  · 
5  ·