Archinect
anchor

Designing a plan set without a degree

epozniak23

My name is Eric. I attended ITT-Tech for 2 years working towards a drafting and design degree. I took classes on AutoCad, Revitt, AutoCad Civil and 3D max. Unfortunately about 2 months before I completed my drafting and design degree I was informed that ITT was closing down. However,  about a year into working towards my degree I was able to obtain a job through the career services department designing floor systems for 2 story residential homes as well as some commercial projects. I have been at this job for almost 6 years now. During this 6 year period I did end up getting a Bachelors Degree in Project Management. All this being said, my real question is if I am legally allowed to start my own “side business” designing floor plans or plan sets for customers. I know I am not a licensed Architect but any response or advice would be greatly appreciated. 

Jun 22, 21 11:03 pm
midlander

in most states you would be allowed to design "exempt" buildings, typically single family residences below a certain size. you should check the architecture practice law in your own state to verify.

or wait an hour and this forum's unlicensed attorney will chime in with ten pages of amateur legal advice :)

Jun 23, 21 12:49 am  · 
14  · 
tduds

You called it.

Jun 23, 21 12:43 pm  · 
2  · 
RJ87

I don't know where he finds the time

Jun 23, 21 2:11 pm  · 
 · 

This just gets better and better

Jun 23, 21 3:16 pm  · 
 · 
rcz1001

No, it isn't 10 pages yet on legal advice.

Jun 23, 21 3:17 pm  · 
1  · 
tduds

Rickipedia strikes again!

Jun 23, 21 4:24 pm  · 
1  · 
rcz1001

midlander, you said it fairly well but I would further add to check the laws of the states you plan to design buildings in to determine what kinds of projects are exempt from requiring an architectural license to design.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

To epozniak23: