Archinect
anchor

Resources for learning new construction and waterproofing methods/details.

johnchoi111

Hi, I'm a Korean architect-ish(?) person, studied archi in Aus but currently working in Korea. I've only started working at my firm 3 months ago and its been a learning process for sure.

Right now I have a boss who is interested in learning construction methods that have recently been developed and being used in foreign cases since in Korea, modern innovations tend to get overlooked and clients end up choosing more cost effective measures. He is especially interested in German architectural details/construction methods and even plans to study abroad there if possible. I'd like to help him in finding some resources and information as it would be a great opportunity for myself as well.

So far I've found 'inspiration.detail.de' but haven't subscribed to it yet. Any other recommendations would be much helpful. Thank you.

Jun 22, 21 2:39 pm
chris-chitect

I used to love looking through Detail Magazine while in university (in Canada). The only issue was my professor would always say "we can't do that here". Some of the products aren't available, and often trades people aren't familiar with the methods, plus the details take very careful consideration and most clients don't want anything that people won't notice. 

I personally like "The Build Show" on YouTube. It's from Texas but the host is very passionate about exploring new details and technologies. 

https://m.youtube.com/channel/...

Jun 22, 21 3:17 pm  · 
 · 
johnchoi111

Thanks, I'll look into them. I agree with you that some of the details I come across seem 'not possible' in Korea as well due to similar reasons.

Jun 22, 21 9:12 pm  · 
 ·