Archinect
anchor

Urban Design Vs Sustainable Arch ( MAsters & Career )

Ram619

Hello!

So I'm just another lost 23-year old that would appreciate your insight. I'll try to keep this short.

Quick intro: I currently have acceptances to great universities in these two fields that I'm interested in. I have a BSc in Architecture. I wanna make an impact. etc, the usual.

I won't waste your time with details about my financial situation, but I'd like your advice regarding something else. I am worried about the career prospects pertaining to these fields and would appreciate your insight.

Sustainability:

I have always been interested in sustainability because of the positive impact it has on our environment and the responsibility we have towards everything and everyone around us (as both human beings and architects.) Moreover, I enjoy being involved in both the design AND technical sides of architecture (and I imagine sustainability is quite technical with all the sun exposure- passive ventilation etc aspects that come with its analysis.) I also enjoy the challenge of spreading sustainable architecture while demonstrating how it doesn't have to translate into a sacrifice in design.

Urban Planning:

On the other hand, what I love about urban planning is the presence of so much collaboration between different stakeholders in the community. I want to be able to be part of a team that ensures an equal distribution of resources to people regardless of their financial status, background, race, ethnicity, etc. However, I'm worried about the job prospects. Will I only be working when there is something to be planned? Will I be idle or working outside my domain otherwise? Urban planning is on a big scale after all, and even though this is what I like about it (impact-wise), it worries me career-wise.

Decision?