Archinect
anchor

Working Part-time as a Full-time Part 2 Architecture Student?

thepoeticsofspace

I am wondering if anyone have had experience in working part-time in an architectural practice while being on a full-time Masters Architecture programme?

How did it work and how many days/hours did you work per week? Many thanks

May 17, 21 9:05 am
axonapoplectic

I worked full time (35-45 hours a week) while being a full time masters student. Halfway through my program my wife had a baby. I took a week paternity leave from work and a semester off from school.  I think I was getting 2-3 hours of sleep at night - sometimes I didn’t sleep. My health was greatly impacted, I gained about 40lbs and I ended up in the emergency room several times.

I graduated almost debt free, but I also almost died.

I think if I were doing it over again, I would have only worked a few hours a week and had given myself a lighter course load. I had no choice because I needed to support my family. My advice is if you do work, make sure you can take chunks of time off during major deadlines at school - and make sure they understand that school is the priority.

May 17, 21 9:58 am  · 
 · 
natematt

First, glad you're ok! Hope you have recovered fully.

Second, how much of an impact did working really have on your debt? If you were supporting a family, presumably on an entry level wage, you couldn't have been putting THAT much money back into paying for school? 

It seems generally unrealistic to pay for most architectural education with a job during school, so I don't think it's the right message to send that if you almost die, you can graduate debt free. I realize that's not the message, but I've known too many architecture students to think that wouldn't be seen as a fair trade off haha

May 17, 21 1:27 pm  · 
 · 
axonapoplectic

30% of my salary went to tuition. I also wasn’t working for entry level wage - I was primary person on several projects.

May 17, 21 3:09 pm  · 
 · 
axonapoplectic