Archinect
anchor

Is Technologist a profession for me?

qalp

Hello,

I'm currently studying in an Architectural Technologist program at one of the best schools in my country. However I've become burnt out and  questioning whether the profession is for me. Unless mistaken, I've concluded a Technician and Technologist's role is almost similar to a building inspector in a firm, sitting at a computer drawing up floor plans, sill details, etc. that must conform and meet building code laws/regulations (and what senior staff want) vs. freely designing anything. Hand drawing & visual rendering are my strengths, but I'm weak at advanced math, and don't function well with group work (also have HFA). I'm also 39. Everyone else in my program is obviously younger, and I would be competing with them for the same job when graduating. But I've already invested 2 years studying.

Is Architectural Technologist a feasible career for me?

Thank you for reading.

May 12, 21 2:16 pm
monosierra

That seems like an odd distinction. To my understanding - and this may differ vastly between countries and even within firms - the technologist would be higher up the value chain as he/she would develop computational tools (components, scripts, plugins) and workflows while the technician implements and uses these tools. Of course, both could be involved in the other's work but the general boundary is between that of developer and user. Technician could also refer to technical experts in detailing etc, which you're describing.

May 12, 21 2:45 pm  · 
 · 
natematt

I think he's clearly indicating the latter. Not a common term for someone in the profession in the US anyway.

May 12, 21 2:57 pm  · 
 · 
natematt

"sitting at a computer drawing up floor plans, sill details, etc. that must conform and meet building code laws/regulations"

You have described what literally 90% of the "doing" part of architecture is. If you don't like that kind of work, you should probably get out of the field.