Archinect
anchor

Architecture, Structural Engineering and Real Estate Development?

FutureArch

I have a Bachelors in Civil Engineering with an emphasis on Structural Engineering and now I am enrolled as a graduate student getting a M.Arch. My goal in the long run is to be able to design/build homes all by myself, so I have been looking into all the aspects of residential construction. I don't necessarily want to have my own firm but I want to work at a design/build firm where they really only need me for most of the work. 

I was wondering if it would be worth it to pursue a MRED after my M.Arch? I don't mind the extra time for school since the M.Arch is 3 years anyways. Would I be able to do real estate development without the degree after just working in residential architecture?

Apr 7, 21 4:29 pm
Wood Guy

I would definitely consider it. I have a BS in engineering with an emphasis on structures, not quite a full BSCE but just a few classes short of an accredited degree. (Also a few classes short of an art/arch history degree.) I have been building and/or designing houses since I was 15, so 32 years now, full time for the last 25 years. Being a jack-of-all trades will keep you busy; I've never had a day without work, even through the 2008 recession. But if you don't want to run your own firm, your earning potential will be limited--architects, engineers and project managers only make so much money. There is a lot more earning potential in real estate development, though also more uncertainty. 

Apr 7, 21 5:13 pm  · 
1  · 
midlander

Would I be able to do real estate development without the degree after just working in residential architecture?

- yes, especially for SFH none of these credentials will be as useful as on the ground experience.