Archinect
anchor

Urban design or Urban Planning?

LilHamster

Hi everyone,

I am an architect, considering pursuing masters in either urban design or urban planning. Could you please advise me on the pros and cons of each, and add your personal experiences or comments to it? Please feel free to add any relevant information that could help me make my decision. Thanks!

Mar 15, 21 3:03 pm
Non Sequitur

planning.

you're already qualified for urban design with an arch background.

Mar 15, 21 3:09 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Certainly the primary skillset is already there-- in the same way a residential architect doing single-family is already qualified for hospital design. But there's a lot of specialized intel and subject matter to learn.

Mar 15, 21 4:04 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Yes, but is it really required to pay for a master's degree in this field? As I mentioned in one of the other 50 related threads from the past 4 days, my office does urban design as a service and not a single person has UD academic credentials. I think it's a tangential service most well-rounded arch can offer and unless the OP is really chasing a gig in a specific office then it's just throwing money into the tuition black hole.

Mar 15, 21 4:25 pm  · 
3  · 
citizen

Good point, and this brings us back to where the topic usually ends up: what is meant by 'urban design'?  The term get used and abused all the time.

Mar 15, 21 6:18 pm  · 
 · 
citizen