Archinect
anchor

How did you pick a jurisdiction for your initial NCARB certificate?

caramelhighrise

I know everyone says it really doesn't matter, but I've narrowed it down to a few states that would be relevant. I've considered initial/ renewal/ reciprocal registration fees, CEU's, where I might be stamping documents in the future, etc, but I was also curious if there are any legal reasons to pick one state/jurisdiction over another. I thought I've heard talks of not being able to call yourself an RA in a state you're not licensed - is this true? If so should I just pick the state I reside in so I don't have to say "Yeah I'm an architect, but not in this state!" Thanks in advance.

Feb 9, 21 10:18 am
Non Sequitur

RA is an unnecessary and redundant description.  Pick the location you reside in (or expect to work primarily in).

Feb 9, 21 10:48 am  · 
 · 
caramelhighrise

Thanks, I probably should have just said Architect. Haven't seen anyone use RA in a long time.

Feb 9, 21 10:56 am  · 
 · 
caramelhighrise

And to take it a step further it's my understanding that adding NCARB to business cards, signatures, etc rather than Architect would be safer than using the A-word.

Feb 9, 21 11:06 am  · 
 · 

If you're not licensed do not call yourself an architect.

Feb 9, 21 11:08 am  · 
 · 
caramelhighrise

Understood. My concern is being licensed in one jurisdiction but not another.

Feb 9, 21 11:22 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

then get licensed in all jurisdictions!

Feb 9, 21 11:24 am  · 
2  · 
SneakyPete

lol

Feb 9, 21 11:38 am  · 
 · 

You'll be fine calling yourself an architect in person or on your business card even if you're not licensed in a state as long as you're not trying to get work in that state.

Feb 9, 21 11:48 am  · 
4  · 
SneakyPete

I often call the cops on people I hear calling themselves doctors in the line at customs. Where do they get off calling themselves "doctor" when they're obviously not licensed in America?!

Feb 9, 21 11:52 am  · 
3  ·