Archinect
anchor

Non-permitted project

Nellers

I feel like I already know the answer to this but am curious about the facts and nuances. I am a registered architect and am just starting a project with a new client - a renovation of an old warehouse into office space. I get the feeling that the client might be wanting to do the project without a permit and I am not sure what the potential consequences would be for me as an architect if I completed construction docs and he went forward without a permit.

Feb 4, 21 12:50 pm
Non Sequitur

short answer: don't

long answer: don't

Feb 4, 21 12:56 pm  · 
3  ·  1

Alternative answer: You shouldn't be responsible for the client getting a permit (check your agreement). We just draw pictures. (also check the practice laws for your jurisdiction to see if there is anything saying you might have to report this to the AHJ)

Feb 4, 21 1:07 pm  · 
4  · 
Non Sequitur

^correct, as long as you're not involved in the construction phases of the project.

Feb 4, 21 1:24 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

EA, for what it's worth, it is not permitted under my association(s) to provide un-stamped construction drawings... and no architect would stamp drawings without submitting for permit, right?

Feb 4, 21 1:39 pm  · 
 · 

Don't call them construction drawings ... then no stamp required, right?

Disclaimer: This should not be taken as legal or professional advice as I am not giving it with that intention. In fact if you're thinking about doing anything like this you should probably consult with your lawyer. Of course, there's Jaffe's Second Law that says "if you need a lawyer, it's already too late" ... so maybe stick with the short answer.

Feb 4, 21 1:52 pm  · 
3  · 
Non Sequitur

Ah yes, the classic Jaffe's law.