Archinect
anchor

Washington State licensing requirement?

yuchench

Hi all,

I am checking the licensing requirement for Washington State on NCARB and have a question. Couldn't find the answer so hope someone here can help me.

Under the licensing requirements, there is one category: Is any additional experience beyond AXP/IDP required for initial registration? https://www.ncarb.org/get-lice...

and WA state requires:

Before starting the AXP, applicants must have at least six years of verified education and/or experience.

I already finished my ADP and recorded three years of work experience in NY (I am relocating to WA soon) I have verified 3 years education of my MArch, but I got my Bachelor degree abroad so NCARB cannot verify my Bachelor degree.

Do I meet the requirement for Washington State? Or should I just pass the NY jurisdiction first when I relocate to WA, then just apply reciprocal registration for WA license?

I have more than three years work experience in NY, but I stopped recording them in NCARB after reached three years.

Really appreciate if someone live in WA can help the question. Thanks.

Jan 30, 21 7:15 pm
t a z

You're going to have to poke around the website for the WA state licensing board to understand the specifics of how education/experience is evaluated.  Or rather that website is the reference link you should post (not the NCARB summary link).

But my actual comment is that WA has an additional state specific testing requirement so even if you do initial licensure in NY you will not be automatically eligible for reciprocity.

Jan 31, 21 3:35 pm  · 
 · 
t a z

OK, nm. The WA state website is very (very) brief and the state test is a 25 question take home exam!

Jan 31, 21 3:45 pm  · 
 · 

Call the state licensing board. They'll be able to answer your questions. Don't trust the information listed on the NCARB website.