Archinect
anchor

Discussion: What are the problems created by architecture?

kapawpav

So often I see people talking about problems that can be solved by architecture but not about the problems created by it. I'll start, I'm not sure if this is more architecture's fault or the society's, but I think it has sort of created ego in humans, especially architects who create obnoxious structures with no care for nature or context. I'm going to leave it at that vague turn. When I started studying architecture, I thought I HAD to only create fancy looking buildings and whatnot, but I've slowly come to realise that I'm more simple-minded and more nature and context-oriented. What do/did you think are problems created by architecture?

Jan 24, 21 6:08 am
Non Sequitur

that’s not a problem. You’re focusing on maybe a fraction of 1% of architecture. Not an issue. 

Jan 24, 21 7:54 am  · 
1  · 
apscoradiales

Come down to Toronto. I'd bet that more than 80% of "architecture" in that city is bloody awfull, not 1%.

Jan 24, 21 9:09 am  · 
1  · 
apscoradiales

To add, rampant growth - you can in a way equate that to bad architecture - has created huge congestion, and social problems; from traffic to crime to the ultimate for GTA, cost of living.

Jan 24, 21 9:38 am  · 
1  · 
Non Sequitur

Not architecture problems Aps. Those are zoning and city politics problems. Also, Toronto is a hole anyways.

Jan 24, 21 10:54 am  · 
2  · 
kapawpav

Well, It's my opinion, you're free to disagree. I'm still only a student and haven't seen the whole equation so, ways to go I guess *shrugs*

Jan 24, 21 10:58 am  · 
 · 
apscoradiales