Archinect
anchor

Concert/Theatre designer looking into architecture

theatregeek2000

Hi, I'm relatively new to this community so please excuse any moments of ignorance in this post (and please feel free to correct me). 

TL;DR A confused theatre major not sure if getting a masters in architecture is the right choice, and, if so, how?

To quickly introduce myself, I'm a theatre set/lighting design student (going into my third year next year). My primary focus is to become a concert designer but eventually my goal is to branch out into other fields such as fashion, film, experience design, etc. (kind of like a jack of all trades type deal). Unlike most of my peers, I came to college with virtually no background in theatre or really any type of spatial design. So to catch up to my peers and also get closer to my goals, I've been studying up on a variety of different fields and working in a variety of different jobs. 

Recently, I've been debating whether four years of theatre school would be enough to prepare me for the real world. The more I get involved in these fields, the more I realized how vastly ignorant I am in design as a whole. I will admit, back in high school I thought I was the shit. I was well known in my school for being "the kid who draws really good". But meeting everyone in college and witnessing the incredible things they create, I realized that I wasn't the shit but just shit. 

During my time (and now), I've been looking into other ways I can maybe enhance my designing skills. While doing a lot of research into this, I started considering getting a masters degree in architecture. I could make a whole essay on why I chose architecture, but to be brief, it's because I find it to be the most eclectic form of study. It's almost like the color grey; it could be white or it could be black but there's really no way of determining objectively, so we just call it grey.