Archinect
anchor

Confused. Should I pursue architectural degree or not?

Aozora

Hi, I'm a senior high school student and I still can't decide on what course I should get. My parents and relatives adviced me to get architecture since they saw my drawings. But I have a problem. I'm not really that good in drawing and I only draw anime characters. But they said that I'll get used to it when I'm exposed to that field. And also I'm not that good in math (but I can learn if someone teaches me).I am also a lazy person. I don't know what to do. I need some advice thank you.

ps. sorry for my English and grammar.

Jan 18, 21 1:30 pm
Non Sequitur

architecture school involves long (excessively long in fact) hours. The lazy should stay away. 

Besides that, you need a creative drive and you actually need to like (love) buildings and designing spaces. If all you do is draw cartoons, then there is not much cross over. 

Jan 18, 21 1:36 pm  · 
4  · 
midlander

no. if you don't like buildings, cities, and spaces there really is no point to studying architecture. it's challenging and competitive work which is only worthwhile if you love the outcome.

also while hand sketching is a useful skill, it's a minor part of the job - at the entry level 95% of the work will be modeling or drawing on a computer.

study a subject because you love what it's about, not because it has some minor connection to one of your hobbies.

Jan 18, 21 5:14 pm  · 
2  · 
rcz1001