Archinect
anchor

Making Enough Money - Did You Do It? - On Your Own? - At a Firm?

BusinessPlan

I've been working as an architect for about 11 years. I always wanted to have my own practice, but as time goes on and I see how much work, time, stress, and liability are involved in architecture it's just not so clear to me anymore that it would feel worth the effort. I'm fairly confident at this point that I could do it, I even have a pretty likely client that I could start to build a practice with, but the question is whether or not I'd earn enough to make the effort feel worth it.

Has anyone on here reached a point in their career, either working for themselves or someone else and felt they were compensated an amount that felt abundant? That made the hard work feel worth it? Or that they could feel proud talking to others who work in other fields? Or that they could support a family without struggling? 

I have a huge amount of respect for other architects, especially those who do creative work. But it seems to me that if financial security is a primary motivator, it's always going to come into conflict with working in the profession. I think architecture is a profession where you need to get a huge amount of satisfaction from seeing your work built and be happy to sacrifice zeros on a paycheck to get it. I'm just not sure now, or in the future I will get that level of satisfaction without a financial reward. 

Jan 17, 21 12:17 pm
OneLostArchitect

I tried to strike out on my own and I struck out. 

Jan 18, 21 7:54 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

baseball is a boring game. Stick to hockey. (badum dish).

Jan 18, 21 8:31 am  · 
2  · 
Non Sequitur