Archinect
anchor

Self-Designed Projects

I'm an undergraduate architecture student and I've been looking for an internship but in the meantime, I would still like to expand my portfolio by designing and completing a project for myself. Have any architecture students done something like this? If so, do you have any recommendations as to where I could start? I'm experiencing a lack of inspiration.

Dec 15, 20 12:50 pm
SneakyPete

Many retired architects have never done "designing and completing a project for [themselves]". Architecture is a team sport.

Dec 15, 20 12:51 pm  · 
 · 

First off, you're not an architect yet so the projects you could design will need to be theoretical or residential.  

Second, as SP stated architecture is a team sport.  You work with many other disciplines and that type of experience is something you do not learn in school regardless of how many group projects you may do.  

Third, you'll probably want to get a mentor that is a practicing architect.  You're going to run into a lot of things you've never dealt with before. Proposals, zoning, codes, permits, contracts, specs, the list goes on. 

Good luck.  

Dec 15, 20 12:56 pm  · 
 · 
randomised

I can’t help you there, I make a terrible client: shit budget, keep changing my mind and try to take over the design process all the time, I’d fire me as a client and an architect. 

Dec 15, 20 1:00 pm  · 
3  · 
Non Sequitur

I would fire myself as a client too.. Actually, I often do. Don't know why I keep hiring myself tho... must be because I charge so little.

Dec 15, 20 1:23 pm  · 
1  · 
mightyaa